Chamber Music Pittsburgh presents: Classical Sean Jones and friends

Mon 11/27 7:30pm
Carnegie Music Hall

Chamber Music Pittsburgh’s 2017-2018 Subscription Series Concert Season third concert with classical trumpeter Sean Jones, with members of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra plus contemporary dance ensemble Attack Theatre.

World-premiere work by Wynton Kelly Stone-Guess
Igor Stravinsky - L’Histoire du Soldat (with members of the Pittsburgh Symphony)
Selected pieces to be announced from the stage

Chamber Music Pittsburgh is thrilled to present classical trumpeter Sean Jones in a concert with members of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, plus contemporary dance ensemble Attack Theatre, as the next concert of its 57th Subscription Series concert season. The concert will take place in Oakland’s Carnegie Music Hall, one of the greatest chamber music venues in the world, where the intimacy of chamber music is powerfully on display.

On Monday, November 27, at 7:30 PM, Sean Jones will play a world-premiere work by Wynton Kelly Stone Guess, L’Histoire du Soldat (A Soldier’s Tale) by Stravinsky, as well as additional selected pieces to be announced from the stage. Members of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra will join Jones in performing L’Histoire du Soldat as dancers from contemporary dance ensemble Attack Theatre dance the story to the music.


About Sean Jones

Music and spirituality have always been fully intertwined in the artistic vision of trumpeter, composer, educator and activist Sean Jones. Singing and performing as a child with the church choir in his hometown of Warren, Ohio, Sean switched from the drums to the trumpet upon his first exposure to Miles Davis at the age of 10. Twenty-five years later, he still cites Miles’ overall artistic vision and purity of sound as his greatest personal influence. But it was another immortal visionary who had a most profound impact when Sean was a 19-year old student at Youngstown State University – the magnificent John Coltrane through his masterpiece, A Love Supreme. Says Jones, “All at once, everything just came together for me. My past, my present, my future. I knew the course I needed to pursue.”

"...even at his most introspective, he conveyed considerable melodic ardor and dramatic intensity." (Chicago Tribune)


About Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra provides musical experiences at the highest level of expression to enrich the community and to satisfy the needs and preferences of our audiences. They work together to support an internationally recognized orchestra and ensure: a viable long-term financial future; a fulfilling environment for their Orchestra, Staff, Volunteers and Board; and the unsurpassed satisfaction of their customers.


About Attack Theatre

This collaboration with Chamber Music Pittsburgh adds to Attack Theatre's extensive history performing in L'Histoire du Soldat, including a 2004 performance with violinist, Pinchas Zuckerman and musicians from the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra; a 2012 tour with the Erie Philharmonic (PA) and the Asheville Symphony (NC); and a 2014 performance with members of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and the Carnegie Mellon University School of Music.



Single tickets are $39 and $46, with student rush tickets for $15 available at the box office one hour prior to the concert to students with valid, full-time student ID. Tickets are available from Chamber Music Pittsburgh at 412-624-4129 or